Chapter 5 Reading – Wall Street Journal Article Regarding Football Coaches

September 23, 2009

I have been fortunate in my career to have never worked for a boss who was a screamer, but I have plenty of friends who have worked in such situations. Of course they were miserable in those situations and pretty much spent most of their time looking for chances to leave. I really cannot imagine working in such a situation—I think I would have to get out as soon as possible. For me, it would be almost impossible to be motivated to do anything, much less put out quality work, if I had someone screaming at me all the time. As the article points out, I think more employers are catching on to the detrimental effect such people can have on productivity and morale, which is why there seems to be fewer such individuals in the workforce. I definitely think this is a step in the right direction. Sure many of us work in high pressure, high stress environments, but that should not be a reason for someone to scream at or belittle someone else. If anything, that should be a reason to avoid such behavior, to ensure that employees remain motivated and productive, and that your coworkers have your back if an emergency situation arises.

Leave a Reply

